Active Search Results I will lead APGA better than I ran PDP as Chairman in Anambra, Obi-Okoye, pub-2829234355596952, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

I will lead APGA better than I ran PDP as Chairman in Anambra, Obi-Okoye

By Okechukwu Onuegbu


The new chairman of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in Anambra State, Barr. Ifeatu Obi-Okoye has vowed to lead the party better than he did as when he was the State chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Obi-Okoye, a former National Publicity Secretary of APGA and Special Adviser to former governor Willie Obiano on Politics, emerged as new Chairman of the party after 15 other aspirants stepped down for him at a congress held in Awka on Tuesday.

He was the Chairman of PDP in 2003 during which the party won all the 30 legislative seats, three Senatorial seats and 10 out of eleven House of Representatives meant for Anambra State.

"My records in PDP in 2003 will be replicated in APGA much better. The records are there. My commitment remains the same. But APGA will win more seats in both State and National level under my watch. I will unveil my plans for the party in coming days.  are going to make APGA great," he said in an interview.

Meanwhile, Anambra State governor, Professor Chukwuma Soludo, who is also the National leader of APGA,  has hailed Anambra State for a successful congress, assuring that his government would give the party adequate support. 

"I congratulate all 326 wards on the successful ward and LGA congresses. They were democratic, and the people's voice was heard. I commend all aspirants who ran and did not win but remained true to the ideals of the party," he noted.

Factcheckng reports that elected officers of the party were the State Deputy Chairman - Mr. Paul Uzor, State Vice Chairman South - Surplus Ezewuzie, State Vice Chairman North - Odinaka Azubuike Ozoechina, State Vice Chairman Central - Chief Nduka Ubi Okoye, State Secretary - Levi Obiadu, Asst. State Secretary - Ekene Nnadinma, State Treasurer - Mrs Veronica Uche Nweke, and State Assistant Treasurer - Mr Uche Maduekwe.

Others were State Financial Secretary - Josephson Okezie, Asst. Financial Secretary - Nnamdi Ifejika, Publicity Secretary - Mofunanya Ikechukwu Peter, Asst. Publicity Secretary - Nze Ikechukwu Okoye, Legal Adviser - Barr. Innocent Izuchukwu Okafor, Asst. Legal Adviser - Barr. Victor Onwumelu, Welfare Secretary - Hon. Chikaodili Nonyelu, and Asst. Welfare Secretary - Martin Otika.

Also elected were Organizing Secretary - Sylvanus Udezuka, Asst. Organizing Secretary - Iykon Okoli, Women Leader - Mrs Esther Onyekwesi, Asst. Women Leader - Mrs. Chinwe Umerie, Youth Leader - Tochukwu Obiadi, Asst. Youth Leader - Hon. James Anagor Chukwuemeka, Auditor - Oraegbunam Uchenna, Asst. Auditor - Barr. Chidi Anasiudu, State Empowerment & Disability - Mrs. Gloria Udevi, Asst. State Empowerment & Disability - Mrs. Amaka Okoli, Ex Officio - Kizito Onunkwo, Ex Officio - Barr. Ugo Ibeneme and Ex Officio - Osundu Ozumba

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post